top of page

Tips To Prolong The Life Of Your Blenders

OK, I know what you’re thinking. Maybe you’ve just bought a brand-new smoothie blender or you are about to buy a brand new one and you want to make sure that you get your moneys worth. I have to be honest, I made some major mistakes with my first few blenders before I realized what I had to do in order to maintain the life of them and have them for years to come.

Since I don’t feel as if there is a need for you to have to go through the same thing as I did, I’ve simply decided to design this post to all of you guys who are looking to prolong the life of your newly bought blender. After all, you bought it to not only use it but to also keep it in your kitchen for a long time to come.

How To Maintain Your Blender

I would have been thrilled if I had access to a list like this that guided me and taught me what I couldn’t do when I bought my first couple of blenders. It could have saved me some serious money. Anyway, I’d recommend you to bookmark this site and come back to it if you would ever forget any of the vital points below. If you found it useful, please share it on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ so all of your friends can take part of it too.

  • Chop, chop:

Chop the fruits or vegetables that you are using. Don’t leave them as huge chunks! Believe it or not but this was standard routine for me the first couple of years.

No wonder they would stop working after a while. But what is a good size, you might ask yourself. Well, as long as you make sure that they fit into the bottom part of your blender you should be fine.

  • Don’t fill up:

Blenders should be filled with no more than 3/4th of their size in order to give room for movements inside. No matter the strength of the motor that your blender has, it will need room to toss around the fruits and veggies while pureeing it.

  • Stuck pieces:

If pieces are stuck, disconnect the blender and remove the piece or pieces that are stuck. Inspect it and if you think the size is to big, chop it further and then add it back to the blender.

You know what.. make it a standard routine to always check the sizes before you start the blender to make sure that they are all OK. If you think they are to big, suspect that it might get stuck if you hit start and therefore remove it and chop it further before you start the pureeing process.

  • Heated motor:

If you notice that the motor is getting heated up it’s about time to give your blender a break. You’ve most likely been pushing him to hard (if you think you need something with a bit more power, this review on kitchenaid professional 600 might be just what you are looking for).

If you notice that the blender is too loud, or stops halfway through or if you can smell something burning..stop it immediately! Let him rest for a couple of hours and re-test. If you can still tell that there is something wrong, contact your local store.

  • Proper assemble:

This needs to be done each and everytime. If you don’t assemble your blender properly and make sure that it’s safe, often times you’ll find that the incorrectly assembled blender just won’t function or atleast it won’t function well.

There is definitely security issues involved in a blender that is assembled incorrectly, especially if you have kids around. Loose parts can fly everywhere, potentially hitting someone or you could seriously damage the blender.

  • A little goes a long way:

This is related to tip nr. 2 about not filling up.. But if you do, and If you are not achieving satisfying results, try and pour some of what you’re blending out to a separate container and only blend a little bit at a time.

I like to look at trying to blend too much as something similiar to trying to chew with too much in your mouth. It’s just stupid.

  • Moisture:

If you don’t add any liquid to whatever you are blending, you will notice that the mix will behave more like a paste and actually push up on the sides, away from the blades.

While it might not be harmful, it’s simply not effective and something I see a large amount of my friends to. There’s so much great stuff you can add depending on what you’re doing.

Some of my favourites are apple (so much lovely fruit juice in them), kiwis, watermelon, milk and juice. But as I said, it all comes down to what you’re making.

If you found this article useful I recommend you to share it with your friends and family via Facebook, Twitter, forum, blogs etc. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to use the contact form.

bottom of page